Making Bread is a Delicious De-stresser

Sometimes I get a little bored of my usual store-bought whole wheat loaf. Since it only takes a few basic ingredients to make bread (water, flour, and yeast), it’s fun to get your hands a little dirty and make some when you’ve got the time. I frequently enjoy kneading and punching the dough until I’m stress-free. Some people use punching bags, I use food – don’t judge me. The only other bread I’ve ever made is Challah (I use this recipe with whole wheat flour), and I wanted to try something a little more savory. I combined two Focaccia recipes and ended up with this delectable rectangle of bread-ly heaven.
Image

To make your own Italian Herb Focaccia, use this recipe for Basic Rosemary Focaccia Dough but instead of topping the dough with olive oil and fresh rosemary, I used the Herb Olive Oil from this recipe. The only fresh herb I had was basil, but I added a generous amount of dried Italian herb blend to the garlic infused olive oil. Any herb blend with marjoram, thyme, rosemary, sage, oregano, and basil will work!

Here are some photos of the steps in this recipe:

Gathering of supplies
Image

 Dough!
Image

Olive oil simmered with garlic and Italian herbs
Image

After I waited patiently for the dough to rise, this is stretched, “dimpled”, and covered with the herb olive oil
Image

Shmeared with some hummus, a little culturally confusing but whatever.

Image

What kind of bread do you like to make? I’d love to hear your suggestions!¬†

Leave a Reply

